## Conclusion

Accordingly, this Court should enjoin Defendants Cannon, Fitzgerald, and Menendez, the Attorney Members of the Alaska Judicial Council, from exercising any powers under Alaska Const. art. IV, §§ 5 and 8, and Alaska Stat. § 22.05.080 and from taking part in the deliberations and voting for nominees to fill the current impending vacancy created by the retirement of Justice Robert L. Eastaugh.

Furthermore, this Court should enjoin Defendants the Chief Justice, Clarke, Thompkins-Miller, and Williams, the remaining four members of the Alaska Judicial Council, from observing the requirement that they act by the concurrence of four or more members under Alaska Const. art. IV, § 8, so that they may proceed with the nomination procedure acting by majority vote.

Dated: July 2, 2009.

Kenneth P. Jacobus

Kenneth P. Jacobus, P.C.

310 K Street, Suite 200

Anchorage, Alaska 99501-2064

Telephone:

907.277.3333

Facsimile:

907.278.4848

Local Counsel for Plaintiffs

Respectfully submitted,

James Bopp, Jr.

Joseph A. Vanderhulst

JAMES MADISON CENTER FOR FREE SPEECH

1 South Sixth Street

Terre Haute, Indiana 47807

Telephone:

812.232.2434

Facsimile:

812.235.3685

Lead Counsel for Plaintiffs

## UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR THE DISTRICT OF ALASKA

WARD HINGER, KENNETH KIRK, and CARL EKSTROM,

Plaintiffs,

v.

Civil Action Number 3:09-cV-00136-TMB

CHIEF JUSTICE WALTER CARPENETI, in his official capacity as ex officio Member of the Alaska Judicial Council; JAMES H. CANNON, in his official capacity as Attorney Member of the Alaska Judicial Council; KEVIN FITZGERALD, in his official capacity as Attorney Member of the Alaska Judicial Council; and LOUIS JAMES MENENDEZ, in his official capacity as Attorney Member of the Alaska Judicial Council; WILLIAM F. CLARKE, in his official capacity as Non-Attorney Member of the Alaska Judicial Council; KATHLEEN THOMPKINS-MILLER, in her official capacity as Non-Attorney Member of the Alaska Judicial Council; and CHRISTENA WILLIAMS, in her official capacity as Non-Attorney Member of the Alaska Judicial Council,

ORDER GRANTING MOTION FOR PRELIMINARY INJUNCTION

Defendants

This action is before the Court on Plaintiffs' Motion for Preliminary Injunction. The Court GRANTS the motion.

It is therefore ORDERED that the Attorney Members of the Alaska Judicial Council, James H. Cannon, Kevin Fitzgerald, and Louis James Menendez are preliminarily enjoined from participating in the procedure for nominating judicial candidates and acting in their official capacities under Alaska Const. art. IV, §§ 5 and 8, and Alaska Stat. § 22.05.080 for the vacancy created by the

impending retirement of Justice Robert L. Eastaugh from the Alaska Supreme Court, which retirement becomes effective November 2, 2009.

It is further ORDERED that the remaining Members of the Alaska Judicial Council, Chief Justice Walter Carpeneti, William F. Clarke, Kathleen Thompkins-Miller, and Christena Williams are preliminarily enjoined from observing the requirement under Alaska Const. art. IV, § 8, that they act by concurrence of four or more members of the Council, as not severable from the unconstitutional sections above, so that they may continue to act by majority concurrence.

SO ORDERED this	day of July, 2009.	
	United States District Judge	